top of page
Castello Kopie.jpg

History - Co.As.Sc.It./Saar

41-3-1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Alessandro Baratta

Prof. Dr. dr hc Alessandro Baratta (1933-2002) Chairman of COASSCIT/Saar from 1978 to 2002 

The CO.AS.SC.IT. in Saarbrücken was founded on 20 November 1967 on the initiative of the Italian Consulate with the task of promoting school education, vocational training and further education for Italian citizens living in Saarland.   

  

The financing of these programmes was ensured until 1974 exclusively by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and then in connection with the European Social Fund.   

  

The Assembly of Coasscit/Saar was composed of representatives of the Italian community in Saarland. In 1974, following the adoption of a new draft statute, the Coasscit Assembly was enlarged from 8 to 12 members. After years of deliberations, a new statute was approved in 1979, which radically changed the committee's structure. At that time, in fact, the need for a co-management of Italian school structures abroad had become apparent, modelled on the collegial school bodies that had arisen in Italy in the first half of the 1970s.   

  

Compared to the past, interest was now focused on the integration processes taking place in the host country. In fact, the conviction had matured that the initially planned temporary stay had been replaced by a desire for permanent settlement in the host country, which called for a change in school policy towards the Italian community in Saarland.  

  

For this reason, following the approval of the new statute, an office - CO.AS.SC.IT - was set up on the model of other institutions operating in the other federal states.  

 

The aims were clearly defined: to promote the early integration of Italian children in German kindergartens, to set up support courses for remedial schooling, to promote the integration of disadvantaged or handicapped children, to initiate adult education programmes, to financially support the teaching of the mother tongue, to promote reading by setting up a library with books in Italian. 

  

Under the name 'Comitato di Assistenza Scolastica Italiana e.V.' operating in the consular district of Saarbrücken, the committee became an association under German law in 1994 at the explicit request of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.   

  

In the same year, CO.AS.SC.IT/Saar was commissioned by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to organise Italian language and culture courses.   

Since then, the teaching of the Italian language has been at the heart of the association's training activities.   

With the bilingual project 'Arcobaleno' in 1998, COASSCIT/Saar e.V. made a methodological and didactic change in the teaching of the Italian language. The priority objective is the integration of the courses into the regular school curriculum and the offering of Italian no longer exclusively as a mother tongue but also as L2 or as a foreign language.  This acknowledged the change that had taken place with the advancing integration process of Italians in Saarland.  

 

With the new models for teaching Italian, CO.AS.SC.IT/Saar aimed to accelerate the integration process, at the same time promoting the educational success of young Italians in Saarland.   

In the following years, the Italian courses were increasingly integrated into the regular classes, with the result that they were no longer only attended by Italian children, but increasingly also by German children or children of other nationalities.  

  

The unexpected death of its historic president, Prof. Dr. Dr hc Alessandro Baratta in 2002, did not interrupt the renewal efforts, so much so that the association, first with Giuseppe Lercara, and then with internationally renowned linguist Prof. Dr. Rita Franceschini, was able to expand the teaching offerings, especially with the establishment of new bilingual classes in the 'Arcobaleno' project.   

  

Under the presidency of Rosanna Logruosso, new integration projects were added, such as the TRACCE project, with the aim of introducing young Italians who have grown up here to the history of the host country and, above all, to the history of the Italians who have emigrated here over the centuries. 

Under the presidency of Dr. Tatiana Bisanti, the already strong cooperation with the University of Saarland was strengthened; bilingual classes were expanded and the use of new technologies in Italian courses was promoted.   

 

Under the new presidency of Gaetana Bella Di Napoli, Coasscit/Saar has further developed its educational offerings with the 'In Italiano con Minecraft' project, which aims to promote digital competence and Italian language learning among young people by exploiting the potential offered by new digital technologies. 

Since the 2018/19 school year, the Saarland Ministry of Education has taken over responsibility for the teaching of native languages (HSU). Mother tongue courses are now permanently integrated into the regular school curriculum with specific programmes developed by the local Ministry of Education.  

 

Coasscit/Saar is delegated the organisation of Italian courses in its capacity as partner of the Saarland Ministry of Education. 

 

Coasscit/Saar's training measures are financed with contributions from MAECI (Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation), the Saarland Ministry of Education and contributions from private companies (Dr. Theiss/Giuseppe Nardi). 

bottom of page

Castello Kopie.jpg

Die Vereinsgeschichte - Co.As.Sc.It./Saar

CO.AS.SC.IT. in Saarbrücken wurde am 20. November 1967 auf Initiative des italienischen Konsulats mit der Aufgabe gegründet, die schulische und berufliche Aus- und Weiterbildung der im Saarland lebenden italienischen Staatsbürger zu fördern.   

  

Die Finanzierung dieser Programme wurde bis 1974 ausschließlich durch das italienische Außenministerium und dann in Verbindung mit dem Europäischen Sozialfonds sichergestellt.   

  

Die Versammlung von Coasscit/Saar setzte sich aus Vertretern der italienischen Gemeinschaft im Saarland zusammen. Im Jahr 1974 wurde die Versammlung von 8 auf 12 Mitglieder vergrößert, nachdem ein neuer Satzungsentwurf angenommen worden war. Nach jahrelangen Beratungen wurde 1979 ein neues Statut verabschiedet, das die Struktur des Ausschusses grundlegend veränderte. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurde die Notwendigkeit einer gemeinsamen Verwaltung der italienischen Schulstrukturen im Ausland nach dem Vorbild der kollegialen Schulgremien deutlich, die in Italien in der ersten Hälfte der 1970er Jahre entstanden waren.   

  

Im Vergleich zu früher konzentrierte sich das Interesse nun auf die Integrationsprozesse im Aufnahmeland. Tatsächlich war die Überzeugung gereift, dass der ursprünglich geplante vorübergehende Aufenthalt durch den Wunsch nach einer dauerhaften Niederlassung im Gastland ersetzt worden war, was eine Änderung der Schulpolitik gegenüber der italienischen Gemeinschaft im Saarland erforderte.  

  

Aus diesem Grund wurde nach der Verabschiedung des neuen Status eine Stelle - CO.AS.SC.IT - nach dem Vorbild anderer Einrichtungen in den anderen Bundesländern eingerichtet.  

 

Die Ziele waren klar definiert: Förderung der frühzeitigen Integration italienischer Kinder in deutschen Kindergärten, Einrichtung von Förderkursen, Förderung der Integration von benachteiligten oder behinderten Kindern, Initiierung von Erwachsenenbildungsprogrammen, finanzielle Unterstützung des muttersprachlichen Unterrichts und Leseförderung durch Einrichtung einer Bibliothek mit Büchern in italienischer Sprache. 

  

Unter dem Namen "Comitato di Assistenza Scolastica Italiana e.V." im Konsularbezirk Saarbrücken tätig, wurde das Komitee 1994 auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch des italienischen Außenministeriums ein Verein nach deutschem Recht.   

  

Im selben Jahr wurde CO.AS.SC.IT/Saar vom italienischen Außenministerium mit der Organisation von Kursen zur italienischen Sprache und Kultur beauftragt.   

Seitdem steht die Vermittlung der italienischen Sprache im Mittelpunkt der Ausbildungstätigkeit des Vereins.   

Mit dem zweisprachigen Projekt "Arcobaleno" hat COASSCIT/Saar e.V. 1998 einen methodischen und didaktischen Wandel im Italienischunterricht vollzogen. Vorrangiges Ziel ist die Integration der Kurse in den regulären Lehrplan und das Angebot von Italienisch nicht mehr ausschließlich als Muttersprache, sondern auch als Zweit- oder Fremdsprache.  Damit wurde dem Wandel Rechnung getragen, der sich mit dem fortschreitenden Integrationsprozess der Italiener im Saarland vollzogen hatte.  

 

Mit dem neuen Ansatz für den Italienischunterricht wollte CO.AS.SC.IT/Saar den Integrationsprozess beschleunigen und gleichzeitig den Bildungserfolg der jungen Italiener im Saarland fördern.   

In den folgenden Jahren wurden die Italienischkurse zunehmend in den Regelunterricht integriert, sodass sie nicht mehr nur von italienischen Kindern, sondern zunehmend auch von deutschen Kindern oder Kindern anderer Nationalitäten besucht wurden.  

  

Der unerwartete Tod des historisch bedeutenden Präsidenten Prof. Dr. Dr. hc Alessandro Baratta im Jahr 2002 hat die Erneuerungsbemühungen nicht unterbrochen, sodass der Verein zunächst mit Giuseppe Lercara und später mit der international renommierten Sprachwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Rita Franceschini das Unterrichtsangebot erweitern konnte, insbesondere durch die Einrichtung neuer zweisprachiger Klassen im Projekt "Arcobaleno".   

  

Unter dem Vorsitz von Rosanna Logruosso kamen neue Integrationsprojekte hinzu, wie das Projekt TRACCE, das jungen Italienerinnen und Italienern, die hier aufgewachsen sind, die Geschichte des Gastlandes und vor allem die Geschichte der Italienerinnen und Italienern, die im Laufe der Jahrhunderte hierher ausgewandert sind, näher bringen soll. 

Unter dem Vorsitz von Dr. Tatiana Bisanti wurde die bereits enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität des Saarlandes weiter ausgebaut, der zweisprachige Unterricht erweitert und der Einsatz neuer Technologien im Italienischunterricht gefördert.   

 

Unter dem neuen Vorsitz von Gaetana Bella Di Napoli hat CO.AS.SC.IT.Saar./Saar e. V. sein Bildungsangebot mit dem Projekt "In Italiano con Minecraft" weiterentwickelt, das darauf abzielt, die digitale Kompetenz und das Erlernen der italienischen Sprache bei jungen Menschen zu fördern, indem das Potenzial der neuen digitalen Technologien genutzt wird. 

 

Seit dem Schuljahr 2018/19 hat das saarländische Bildungsministerium die Verantwortung für den muttersprachlichen Unterricht (HSU) übernommen. Die muttersprachlichen Kurse sind nun fest in den Lehrplan integriert.